Leaving the Travelling Life Behind

“We shall not cease from exploration, and the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time.”

T.S. Eliot

Yes, dear reader after seven years of continuous travel I have settled down. Travel was becoming jaded, dull- always a sign that change is needed.

Before I went to China last year, I thought I’d settle in a small country town on the NorthCoast of NSW but after my trip I became aware that I was not a small town person and needed more options and opportunities. Besides I had lived in a small town on the south coast for three years so I had had that experience

It is not so important where one settles down. The best thing is to follow your instincts without too much reflection.

Albert Einstein

So now Im in the process of acquiring what I need for my new home and at times its overwhelming. I could be an acquisitive materialist in my old life and amazingly, that old pattern resurfaced so quickly once I had moved. This unwanted dysfunctional pattern remained in spite of all my light travels. But I am refusing it a place in my new home and resisting filling the empty space with a deluge of possessions

“I could settle down into a state of equable low spirits, and resign myself to coffee.”

Charles Dickens

I also want to get to know my home and allow it to speak to me, telling me what it needs. I intend to nurture and sustain it as I know it will do so for me.

For life we need three things only: nourishment, love, and peace.”

Debasish Mridha

I have started to think about a book I studied at Uni. “Candide” written by Voltaire, is a story about the fantastical voyages of the young Candide, the original innocent abroad. When at the end of his voyages, he settles down and reflects on all that he has seen and experienced he eise adbice is “Il Nous Faut Cultiver Notre Jardin” we must tend to our own garden, the garden of the earth, our life and soul.

With the right treatment, love, and care the world is a better place.”
Ana Monnar